top of page
Dani Seide

10 Of The Best Foundations for Black Women

Finding the correct foundation can be incredibly difficult. Especially in a world where most brands don't have a proper shade range for your skin tone. No one understands this more than black women. These brands listed today have done an amazing job of not only creating a formula that is top notch for their product, but also curating a shade range that is wildly inclusive.

 

1. Too Faced Born This Way Undetectable Foundation



This foundation is incredibly hydrating and definitely built to wear all day long. The key ingredients in this foundation are coconut water, alpine rose, and hyaluronic acid.


This foundation is available for $40 at ULTA.







2. Fenty Beauty Pro Filtr Longwear Foundation



Fenty is killing the game with 50 shades available to purchase, but my favorite thing about this foundation is the matte finish it gives you. It is so lightweight and keeps my skin looking like clear fresh skin. No cakey makeup looks when using this product. RiRi wins again.


This foundation is available for $38 at ULTA.






3. Bobbi Brown Skin Long Wear Weightless Foundation



This foundation was very lightweight and honestly one of the most mask-proof on the list. it is not the fullest coverage, but perfect for a no makeup makeup kind of look.


This foundation is available for $50 at ULTA.














4. Mac Studio Fix Fluid Foundation



Studio Fix is an OG. Mac Foundation has always seemed to work for me. While it is no longer my favorite, it is a constant winner whenever you need it. Studio Fix lasts all day and is great for oily skin. I have been to the gym in this foundation and it does stay in place.


This foundation is available for $36 at ULTA.




5. KVD Beauty Lock it Foundation



KVD Lock it is my absolute favorite high coverage, long lasting foundation. Kat Von D the famous tattoo artist is actually the original creator of this product. She showed the amount of coverage this product gives by covering her highly tattooed body to the point where she looked like she never had one tattoo done. When I saw this image, I knew I wanted to try it.

While I love this foundation a ton, it is hardly ever available in my shade. As a matter of fact, most of the darker shades are often sold out when I shop. That tells me other black women are enjoying this formula as well. A little product definitely goes a long way with this foundation. It is transfer resistant and really does lock onto your face. This is a must have.


This foundation is available for $40 at ULTA.





6. NARS Sheer Glow Foundation



This foundation is perfect for everyday use. A great foundation for work, school, and errands. Nothing fancy with this product, but it definitely works.


This foundation is available for $47 at ULTA.









7. Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay in Place Foundation



This foundation is my favorite color match. Long wear and lightweight. There are a ton of You Tube reviews about this product by black women.


This foundation is available for $46 at ULTA.












8. Black Up Matifying Fluid Foundation


I was skeptical about this product because honestly; I had not heard of it before. However, I tried it anyway and was pleasantly surprised. This foundation is medium to full coverage and blends well. I would consider this a great beach vacation makeup. It gave me a very natural glow.


This foundation is available for $41.50 at Macy's.









9. Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24 Hour Long Wear Matte Foundation



I love this foundation. Full coverage and certainly gives a luxe feel. However, it was really hard for me to find a color match for my skin. Lancome is very helpful online with helping find your shade on their platforms. This is long lasting and certainly worth it.


This foundation is available for $42 at ULTA.











10. Beauty Bakerie Instabake Aqua Glass Foundation



This foundation definitely gives a glossy finish. It is also very high coverage. I used this foundation at the peak of my cystic acne nightmare and it did a great job of covering my acne and scars. I highly recommend this product if you struggle with acne or large visible pores.


This foundation is available for $34 at ULTA.








Have you tried any of these? Be sure to let me know your favorite below!







Comments


bottom of page